"The doctors of the church: they mapped out the whole theology of it" (U5.440)

Doctor of the Church is a title given by the Catholic Church to saints who made a significant contribution to theology or doctrine through their research, study, or writing. As of 2023, there are 37 Doctors of the Church. Four are women, the first being St. Teresa of Ávila, shown here. Others mentioned in Ulysses are St John Chrysostome, St. Augustine, St Thomas of Aquinas, St. Bernard of Clairvaux, St John Damascene, and St Therese of Lisieux.