"how that the grave elders of the most obedient city, second of the realm, had met them in the tholsel, and there, after due prayers to the gods who dwell in ether supernal, had taken solemn counsel whereby they might, if so be it might be, bring once more into honour among mortal men the winged speech of the seadivided Gael." (U12.1185)

The Coat of Arms of Dublin, first granted officially to the Dublin City Assembly in 1607, includes the ancient device of the three castles (symbol of the city since the Middle Ages) and the Dublin motto in Latin: Obedientia Civium Urbis Felicitas = The Obedience of the Citizen is the Happiness of the City.